Dockers end Blues FA Cup hopes

Saturday 20th August
FA CUP PRELIMINARY ROUND
BRENTWOOD TOWN 1 - 2 TILBURY

 

Tilbury came from behind at the Brentwood Arena to secure a place in the next round. Brentwood stated the first half brightly and had a call for a penalty in the first minute before taking a deserved lead when Lamar Reynolds surged through the centre of the Dockers defence and slipped the ball under keeper Lee Butcher.

Tilbury equalised in the 20th minute, Kurt Smith scoring from the penalty spot after John Burgess had handled. The visitors then went ahead when former Blues striker Tony Martin headed into the top corner.

Both sides had chances in the second half but both keepers were in good form, Butcher saving well from Brentwood’s Reynolds and Charlie Georgiou, and Lewis Moore keeping out efforts from Dockers’ Reiss Gilbey.

BOWERS & PITSEA 2 - 0 BRENTWOOD TOWN

Tuesday 16th August
RYMAN DIVISION ONE NORTH
BOWERS & PITSEA 2 - 0 BRENTWOOD TOWN
By Jack Ferguson

Brentwood travelled to Bowers and Pitsea on Tuesday night for the first league meeting between the two sides in almost a decade. The home side were promoted to the Ryman League Division One North last season after winning the Essex Senior League.  

Tony Ievoli made a number of changes to the team that started the game at the weekend, giving debuts to: Billy Rees, Jake Alexander, Matt Hall and Lamar Reynolds. The changes seemed to be working dividends as The Blues retained the majority of possession in the first half and got into a number of promising positions. 

Despite all the possession it was two balls into the box in the first half which served to be our undoing in the match. Bowers and Pitsea were awarded a free-kick in the 30th minute which was crossed in from the left-hand side and headed in from Luke Wilson. Brentwood responded strongly however a corner awarded to Bowers three-minutes before the break was subsequently headed in by Aaron Walters to make it two nil to the home side before half time. There was still time before the break to create opportunities including a shot from Andy Greenslade that went over the bar from a short distance. Even more drama was to follow before half time where the home side were reduced to 10 men with James Stevens being sent off. Brentwood came out strongly in the second half but a very good defensive effort from Bowers and Pitsea reduced the number of opportunities The Blues were able to create. 

The Brentwood faithful travelled in a good number to the Len Salmon Stadium and will have been encouraged by the efforts of the side. Tony Ievoli's side will now take a break from league action and focus attention to The Emirates FA Cup where we face Tilbury at home. 

Brentwood Town: 1. Dan Mulrooney, 2. Brendan Cavalier, 3. Ben Sampayo, 4. Sam Owusu (C), 5. Billy Rees, 6. Jake Alexander, 7. Andy Greenslade (sub 14, Mathias Bakere), 8. Matt Hall (sub Reece Cosson), 9. Charlie Georgiou (Sub Zatos Zeqeri), 10. Lamar Reynolds, 11. Andrew Freeman 

Opening day defeat for Blues

Saturday 13th August
RYMAN DIVISION ONE NORTH
BRENTWOOD TOWN 0 – 3 PHOENIX SPORTS

Two goals by ex-Blues player Steve Carvell secured an opening-day victory for Phoenix at the Brentwood Arena on Saturday.

New manager Tony Ievoli’s first lineup contained just three of last season’s squad and his team played some good football but lacked a cutting edge in front of goal. Brentwood were punished for defensive errors and the visitors capitalised with some clinical finishing.

Billy Medlock put the Kent side them ahead in the eighth minute as he seized on a loose ball to shoot home from close range.

Lamar Reynolds’ pace caused the Phoenix defence problems and Brentwood’s best chances in the first half fell to him and Charlie Georgiou but they could not convert and Carvell made it 2-0 in the 27th minute rounding Blues keeper Dan Mulrooney to score.

Medlock went close to increasing the lead just before half time but Carvell then struck again just two minutes into second half to effectively seal the points. Brentwood worked hard to get back into the game with Andy Freeman a threat from the wings and Phoenix keeper Steve Phillips saved well from Georgiou after a good run by Freeman on the right.

 

Brentwood Town: Mulrooney, Cavalier, Foster (Greenslade 71), Owusu, Goncalves, Sumaili (Thompson-Martelly 46), Milner (Freeman 58), Ngandu, Georgiou, Reynolds, Cosson. 

Pearl Snow

Sadly, we have to announce that Pearl Snow passed away at the weekend. Pearl was the sister of former 1st team manager Derrick Stittle and she ran the catering at the club for a number of decades from the 1970s, at the old ground at Larkins, and at the Brentwood centre after we moved there in 1993. Her sandwiches were renowned through the Essex Senior League. 

The funeral will be at East Chapel Upminster Crematorium on the 26th August at 11.40. 

Ryman League fixtures 2016/17

BRENTWOOD TOWN - RYMAN LEAGUE DIVISION ONE NORTH

 

Sat Aug 13 Phoenix Sports H

Tue Aug 16 Bowers & Pitsea A

Sat Aug 20 Tilbury H (F.A. Cup Prelim)

Sat Aug 27 Thamesmead Town H

Mon Aug 29 Heybridge Swifts A

Sat Sep 3  VCD Athletic H 

Tue Sep 6  AFC Hornchurch A

Sat Sep 10 Soham Town Rangers A

Sat Sep 17 Great Wakering Rovers H 

Wed Sep 21 Romford A

Sat Sep 24 Bury Town H

Tue Sep 27 Cheshunt H

Sat Oct 1  Aveley A 

Sat Oct 8  Marlow H (F.A. Trophy Prelim)

Tue Oct 11 Thurrock A

Sat Oct 15 Waltham Abbey H 

Tue Oct 18 Bowers & Pitsea H

Sat Oct 22 Ware A

Sat Oct 29 Wroxham A 

Sat Nov 5  Brightlingsea Regent H 

Sat Nov 12 Norwich United A 

Sat Nov 19 Tilbury H

Tue Nov 22 Cheshunt A

Sat Nov 26 Aveley H 

Tue Nov 29 Romford H

Sat Dec 3  Bury Town A 

Sat Dec 10 Dereham Town A 

Sat Dec 17 Maldon & Tiptree H

Mon Dec 26 Witham Town A 

Sat Dec 31 AFC Hornchurch H

Mon Jan 2  Heybridge Swifts 

Sat Jan 7  Haringey Borough A 

Sat Jan 14 Wroxham H 

Sat Jan 21 Brightlingsea Regent A

Sat Jan 28 Thurrock H

Sat Feb 4  Phoenix Sports A

Sat Feb 11 Ware H

Sat Feb 18 Waltham Abbey A

Sat Feb 25 Norwich United H

Sat Mar 4  Tilbury A

Sat Mar 11 Dereham Town H

Sat Mar 18 Maldon & Tiptree A

Sat Mar 25 VCD Athletic A

Sat Apr 1  Soham Town Rangers H

Sat Apr 8  Haringey Borough H

Sat Apr 15 Great Wakering Rovers A

Mon Apr 17 Witham Town H
Sat Apr 22 Thamesmead Town A

FA Cup draws announced

Friday 8th July

The draws for the early rounds of the FA competitions have been announced today. In the preliminary round of the FA Cup Brentwood Town are at home to fellow Ryman North club Tilbury, the tie to be played on Saturday 20th August.

We are also drawn at home in the preliminary round of the FA Trophy when Marlow from the Evo-Stik Southern League Division One Central will visit us on Saturday 8th October. The winners of this tie will be away to Cray Wanderers or Carshalton Athletic in the 1st qualifying round on 29th October.

In the FA Youth Cup, the Under-18s will be away to Heybridge Swifts. The match will be scheduled during the week beginning Monday 5th September. The winners will be at home to Cheshunt.